Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

Sign up now!

Tutorial Jagex Launcher Fix!

Joined
Jul 6, 2023
Messages
4
EDIT: Script isn't really working how I intended it to.

Not ready to discuss progress on a "real" patch for the launcher, but I've formalized this workaround into the following batch script:

Code:
@echo off
setlocal

REM Step 1: Go to the folder %LOCALAPPDATA%\RuneLite
cd /d "%LOCALAPPDATA%\RuneLite"

REM Step 2: Create a backup directory and copy the contents of the current directory into the backup
set BACKUP_DIR="%CD%\backup_%date:/=-%_%time::=-%"
mkdir %BACKUP_DIR%
xcopy /E /I /Y /exclude:%BACKUP_DIR%\*.* *.* %BACKUP_DIR%

REM Step 3: Copy everything from C:\Program Files\RuneMate into the folder from step 1
set RUNEMATE_DIR=C:\Program Files\RuneMate
xcopy /E /I /Y "%RUNEMATE_DIR%\*" "%CD%"

REM Step 4: Rename RuneMate.exe to RuneLite.exe
ren "%CD%\RuneMate.exe" RuneLite.exe

echo "Backup created at %BACKUP_DIR%"
echo "RuneMate files copied to %CD% and RuneMate.exe renamed to RuneLite.exe"

pause
endlocal

I ran the BAT and it said it was renamed, I launched RuneLite from the Jagex launcher and it still launched the regular RuneLite. RuneMate never came up.
 
Tried launching it through RuneMate, still says you have to login through Jagex Launcher.
 
Got it to work, the BAT didn't actually rename anything. I went into my AppData and did it and its running now. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2023
Messages
1
Update:
@Party - Hijacking the post to add clear instructions...

Preparation
1. Copy everything from `C:/Program Files/RuneMate` into `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
2. Go to `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
3. Move `RuneLite.exe` into a backup folder
4. Rename `RuneMate.exe` to `RuneLite.exe`

Usage
1. Launch JagexLauncher
2. Launch RuneLite from JagexLauncher (will open RuneMate instead)
3. Launch RuneLite from RuneMate


Updating RuneLite

1. Go to `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
2. Restore `RuneLite.exe` from your backup folder
3. Run `RuneLite.exe`
4. Do the steps from "Preparation" again


Original post:
Hey all!

So if you're a complete moron like myself :D
You've gone an updated your account to be migrated to the new "Jagex Launcher".

and now you can't login normally..

The "Username / Password" Phase...
Well have no fear, after much stupidity and nearly throwing my toys out of the window...

I bring you a fix, IT IS BY FAR, NOT AN ELEGANT FIX, BUT IT WORKS.

Step 1; Go to your C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Local\RuneLite

Create a new folder, (Backup)
Drag EVERY File, except the config file, (You can make a backup of that too though),

Once you've done this, you'll now want to go to where ever you installed RuneMate, Move EVERY file over to the "RuneLite" file in the above filepath.

Rename the "RuneMate.exe" to "RuneLite", leaving the Jar file as RuneMate.

Now load the Jagex launcher, switch the client to "RuneLite" in the dropdown menu.
B00m > Bobs your uncle, It now works again, no need for a user or password
 
Update:
@Party - Hijacking the post to add clear instructions...

Preparation
1. Copy everything from `C:/Program Files/RuneMate` into `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
2. Go to `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
3. Move `RuneLite.exe` into a backup folder
4. Rename `RuneMate.exe` to `RuneLite.exe`

Usage
1. Launch JagexLauncher
2. Launch RuneLite from JagexLauncher (will open RuneMate instead)
3. Launch RuneLite from RuneMate


Updating RuneLite

1. Go to `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
2. Restore `RuneLite.exe` from your backup folder
3. Run `RuneLite.exe`
4. Do the steps from "Preparation" again


Original post:
Hey all!

So if you're a complete moron like myself :D
You've gone an updated your account to be migrated to the new "Jagex Launcher".

and now you can't login normally..

The "Username / Password" Phase...
Well have no fear, after much stupidity and nearly throwing my toys out of the window...

I bring you a fix, IT IS BY FAR, NOT AN ELEGANT FIX, BUT IT WORKS.

Step 1; Go to your C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Local\RuneLite

Create a new folder, (Backup)
Drag EVERY File, except the config file, (You can make a backup of that too though),

Once you've done this, you'll now want to go to where ever you installed RuneMate, Move EVERY file over to the "RuneLite" file in the above filepath.

Rename the "RuneMate.exe" to "RuneLite", leaving the Jar file as RuneMate.

Now load the Jagex launcher, switch the client to "RuneLite" in the dropdown menu.
B00m > Bobs your uncle, It now works again, no need for a user or password



Could somebody make a video of this, it would be much easier for us that dont know pc much. please! <3 or explain it better, i've tried this for 6 hours still not working, idk what im doing wrong...
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
6
 




Could somebody make a video of this, it would be much easier for us that dont know pc much. please! <3 or explain it better, i've tried this for 6 hours still not working, idk what im doing wrong...

Make sure you read carefully where it says "runeMate" and "RuneLite"

If you're having trouble finding the directories, just right click runemate or runelite and click "open destination folder".
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2023
Messages
1
So if i do this and i want to use the normal client again do i have to keep switching all the copy/paste stuff
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2023
Messages
1
BE CAREFUL when doing this, i fucked up and caught a 3 day saying they can detect when a 3rd party client is trying to load up runelite thru the launcher
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2023
Messages
3
These steps worked GREAT on Windows. Thanks for your help.

Has anyone managed to figure out the work around for Macbook and how to replace RuneLite executable with RuneMate to get Jagex Launcher to work and play?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
1
Update:
@Party - Hijacking the post to add clear instructions...

Preparation
1. Copy everything from `C:/Program Files/RuneMate` into `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
2. Go to `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
3. Move `RuneLite.exe` into a backup folder
4. Rename `RuneMate.exe` to `RuneLite.exe`

Usage
1. Launch JagexLauncher
2. Launch RuneLite from JagexLauncher (will open RuneMate instead)
3. Launch RuneLite from RuneMate


Updating RuneLite

1. Go to `C:/Users/YOUR_USER/AppData/Local/RuneLite`
2. Restore `RuneLite.exe` from your backup folder
3. Run `RuneLite.exe`
4. Do the steps from "Preparation" again


Original post:
Hey all!

So if you're a complete moron like myself :D
You've gone an updated your account to be migrated to the new "Jagex Launcher".

and now you can't login normally..

The "Username / Password" Phase...
Well have no fear, after much stupidity and nearly throwing my toys out of the window...

I bring you a fix, IT IS BY FAR, NOT AN ELEGANT FIX, BUT IT WORKS.

Step 1; Go to your C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Local\RuneLite

Create a new folder, (Backup)
Drag EVERY File, except the config file, (You can make a backup of that too though),

Once you've done this, you'll now want to go to where ever you installed RuneMate, Move EVERY file over to the "RuneLite" file in the above filepath.

Rename the "RuneMate.exe" to "RuneLite", leaving the Jar file as RuneMate.

Now load the Jagex launcher, switch the client to "RuneLite" in the dropdown menu.
B00m > Bobs your uncle, It now works again, no need for a user or password




FARRRRK... IVE TRIED THIS SHIT FOR LIKE 3 HOURS AND CANT GET IT SORTED SOMEONE HELP ME HAHAH
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2022
Messages
1
So i did this but since today after a runemate update i cant seem to get Jagex to relaunch. it was working previously

Any suggestions?
 
So i did this but since today after a runemate update i cant seem to get Jagex to relaunch. it was working previously

Any suggestions?

I figured it out
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2023
Messages
2
Thanks for the workaround;

Please include the following in the larger, bolder text as without this step, RuneMate was requesting an update.

Create a new folder, (Backup)
Drag EVERY File, except the config file, (You can make a backup of that too though),
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2023
Messages
5
These steps worked GREAT on Windows. Thanks for your help.

Has anyone managed to figure out the work around for Macbook and how to replace RuneLite executable with RuneMate to get Jagex Launcher to work and play?

This is how you execute the work-around for Mac:


  1. Open Finder:
    • On the Left-Hand Side I have a tab called "Applications" - Click that.
  2. In the Applications Menu - you should see all your installed applications.
    • First, we want to save a copy of the original RuneLite - so perform the following:
      • RIGHT click RuneLite, click "Show Package Contents"
      • Open the Contents folder, Open MacOS folder:
      • Copy the RuneLite exec file to a backup folder.
  3. Next, go back to the Applications Menu, same from step 2.
    • RIGHT click RuneMate, click "Show Package Contents"
    • Copy the entire Contents folder, and replace it with the Contents folder found in RuneLite previously seen in Step 2.
    • There will be a prompt, just click "Replace"
  4. Finally, go back into the Applications menu from Step 2
    • RIGHT click RuneLite, click "Show Package Contents"
    • Go into the contents folder, then go into the MacOS folder.
    • Rename that exec file to "RuneLite"
  5. Run Jagex Launcher, and click Play - it should open up RuneMate now instead of RuneLite
  6. If you need to update RuneLite first, just go to where you saved the original RuneLite exec file, run to update it, then try RuneMate again.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2023
Messages
3
This is how you execute the work-around for Mac:

  1. Open Finder:
    • On the Left-Hand Side I have a tab called "Applications" - Click that.
  2. In the Applications Menu - you should see all your installed applications.
    • First, we want to save a copy of the original RuneLite - so perform the following:
      • RIGHT click RuneLite, click "Show Package Contents"
      • Open the Contents folder, Open MacOS folder:
      • Copy the RuneLite exec file to a backup folder.
  3. Next, go back to the Applications Menu, same from step 2.
    • RIGHT click RuneMate, click "Show Package Contents"
    • Copy the entire Contents folder, and replace it with the Contents folder found in RuneLite previously seen in Step 2.
    • There will be a prompt, just click "Replace"
  4. Finally, go back into the Applications menu from Step 2
    • RIGHT click RuneLite, click "Show Package Contents"
    • Go into the contents folder, then go into the MacOS folder.
    • Rename that exec file to "RuneLite"
  5. Run Jagex Launcher, and click Play - it should open up RuneMate now instead of RuneLite
  6. If you need to update RuneLite first, just go to where you saved the original RuneLite exec file, run to update it, then try RuneMate again.

You are legendary, this worked like a charm for me! I'm a newer Mac user so I had no idea all of this was possible like on Windows, lol.
 
Top