Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

Sign up now!

Bug AgentInitializationException Help Thread

Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
9
Since I'm apparently not the only one with this issue, even after trying the fixes listed, I think we should all come together when asking for support. Please post in this thread if you have this same issue when trying to connect to the Runescape Client. When posting please list your OS, including 32 or 64 bit. Also include whether you've tried uninstalling all Java instances and reinstalling the client. Another issue that might be related is when running from the Jar sometimes you will not get the Agent error but instead the green start instance button might just dim and nothing happens.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
9
So I've got a hunch, do any of you have any Java games installed through Steam, such as Project Zomboid? Might be nothing, but it might be related.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2015
Messages
2
i have the same problem:
Code:
[Debug] Version: 2.0.3
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 (x64)
[Debug] Java: 8 Update 92 (x86) (Oracle Corporation)
Attempting to start official client. If it does not open shortly please do so manually.
Checking for a new game instance every second for two minutes or until one is found.
Found a new game instance after 3 seconds.
Failed to bind to virtual machine because of a AgentInitializationException
com.sun.tools.attach.AgentInitializationException: Agent JAR loaded but agent failed to initialize
    at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(gl:175)
    at nul.iiIiIIiiIIIi.do(gec:228)
    at nul.IIIIiIiiiIiI.run(vic:172)

i have no copy of any 64 bit java on my pc left, and uninstalled java, runemate and runescape a few times already
 
Mod Automation
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
3,044
i have the same problem:
Code:
[Debug] Version: 2.0.3
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 (x64)
[Debug] Java: 8 Update 92 (x86) (Oracle Corporation)
Attempting to start official client. If it does not open shortly please do so manually.
Checking for a new game instance every second for two minutes or until one is found.
Found a new game instance after 3 seconds.
Failed to bind to virtual machine because of a AgentInitializationException
com.sun.tools.attach.AgentInitializationException: Agent JAR loaded but agent failed to initialize
    at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(gl:175)
    at nul.iiIiIIiiIIIi.do(gec:228)
    at nul.IIIIiIiiiIiI.run(vic:172)

i have no copy of any 64 bit java on my pc left, and uninstalled java, runemate and runescape a few times already
You are using an unreleased version of Java. Uninstall u92 and install u77. @Cloud tag to take a look and consider testing on beta builds to future proof.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2015
Messages
2
You are using an unreleased version of Java. Uninstall u92 and install u77. @Cloud tag to take a look and consider testing on beta builds to future proof.
Code:
[Debug] Version: 2.0.3
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 (x64)
[Debug] Java: 8 Update 77 (x86) (Oracle Corporation)
Incorrect password. Please try again.
java.lang.NullPointerException
    at nul.iiIIIIiiiiiI.do(drb:118)
    at nul.iIIiIIiIiiII.const(qsb:17487)
    at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl.lambda$null$173(PlatformImpl.java:295)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl.lambda$runLater$174(PlatformImpl.java:294)
    at com.sun.glass.ui.InvokeLaterDispatcher$Future.run(InvokeLaterDispatcher.java:95)
    at com.sun.glass.ui.win.WinApplication._runLoop(Native Method)
    at com.sun.glass.ui.win.WinApplication.lambda$null$148(WinApplication.java:191)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

Attempting to start official client. If it does not open shortly please do so manually.
Checking for a new game instance every second for two minutes or until one is found.
Found a new game instance after 3 seconds.
Failed to bind to virtual machine because of a AgentInitializationException
com.sun.tools.attach.AgentInitializationException: Agent JAR loaded but agent failed to initialize
    at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(gl:175)
    at nul.iiIiIIiiIIIi.do(gec:228)
    at nul.IIIIiIiiiIiI.run(vic:172)

still does not seem to work :/
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
31
I have the same issue
[Debug] RuneMate Version: 2.0.4
[Debug] Java Version: 8u77 x86 (Oracle Corporation)
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Attempting to start official client. If it does not open shortly please do so manually.
Checking for a new game instance every second for two minutes or until one is found.
Found a new game instance after 6 seconds.
Failed to bind to virtual machine because of a AgentInitializationException
com.sun.tools.attach.AgentInitializationException: Agent JAR loaded but agent failed to initialize
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:256)
at nul.iIIiIIiiiiII.catch(fcc:213)
at nul.iIiiIIiiIiII.run(ijc:46)

Edit:
Additionally, if I start a client manually and RM to detect it, it bypasses the above issue. However, I click 'start instance' and nothing happens, it is then greyed out,. The log for this is shown below
[Debug] RuneMate Version: 2.0.4
[Debug] Java Version: 8u77 x86 (Oracle Corporation)
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Attempting to start official client. If it does not open shortly please do so manually.
Checking for a new game instance every second for two minutes or until one is found.
java.lang.InternalError: instrument library is missing in target VM
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:139)
at nul.iIIiIIiiiiII.catch(fcc:213)
at nul.iIiiIIiiIiII.run(ijc:46)
Caused by: com.sun.tools.attach.AgentLoadException: Failed to load agent library
at sun.tools.attach.WindowsVirtualMachine.execute(wi:204)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:193)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:68)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:213)
... 2 more

java.lang.InternalError: instrument library is missing in target VM
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:139)
at nul.iIIiIIiiiiII.catch(fcc:213)
at nul.iIiiIIiiIiII.run(ijc:46)
Caused by: com.sun.tools.attach.AgentLoadException: Failed to load agent library
at sun.tools.attach.WindowsVirtualMachine.execute(wi:204)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:193)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:68)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:213)
... 2 more
 
Last edited:
Engineer
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
2,776
Anyone experiencing this issue, can you please post the content of the file called with the name of "date time - game.txt" that is within the logs folder within the RuneMate folder. Specifically we want the one relating to the crash instance, so delete them all first if necessary and then reproduce it and send it over. I believe the java agent is crashing.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
31
Anyone experiencing this issue, can you please post the content of the file called with the name of "date time - game.txt" that is within the logs folder within the RuneMate folder. Specifically we want the one relating to the crash instance, so delete them all first if necessary and then reproduce it and send it over. I believe the java agent is crashing.

I deleted all previous error logs


[Debug] RuneMate Version: 2.0.4
[Debug] Java Version: 8u77 x86 (Oracle Corporation)
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 x64
java.lang.InternalError: instrument library is missing in target VM
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:139)
at nul.iIIiIIiiiiII.catch(fcc:213)
at nul.iIiiIIiiIiII.run(ijc:46)
Caused by: com.sun.tools.attach.AgentLoadException: Failed to load agent library
at sun.tools.attach.WindowsVirtualMachine.execute(wi:204)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:193)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:68)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:213)
... 2 more
 
Engineer
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
2,776
I deleted all previous error logs


[Debug] RuneMate Version: 2.0.4
[Debug] Java Version: 8u77 x86 (Oracle Corporation)
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 x64
java.lang.InternalError: instrument library is missing in target VM
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:139)
at nul.iIIiIIiiiiII.catch(fcc:213)
at nul.iIiiIIiiIiII.run(ijc:46)
Caused by: com.sun.tools.attach.AgentLoadException: Failed to load agent library
at sun.tools.attach.WindowsVirtualMachine.execute(wi:204)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:193)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgentLibrary(cj:68)
at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:213)
... 2 more
That gave me a bit more insight, but that appears to be the log for the - spectre, not the - game log file.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
9
That gave me a bit more insight, but that appears to be the log for the - spectre, not the - game log file.
At least in my case, that's the only log file produced. Example:
WUUYf4I.png
The contents of that log are as follows:
Code:
[Debug] RuneMate Version: 2.0.4
[Debug] Java Version: 8u77 x86 (Oracle Corporation)
[Debug] Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Attempting to start official client. If it does not open shortly please do so manually.
Checking for a new game instance every second for two minutes or until one is found.
Found a new game instance after 12 seconds.
Failed to bind to virtual machine because of a AgentInitializationException
com.sun.tools.attach.AgentInitializationException: Agent JAR loaded but agent failed to initialize
    at sun.tools.attach.HotSpotVirtualMachine.loadAgent(cj:256)
    at nul.iIIiIIiiiiII.catch(fcc:213)
    at nul.iIiiIIiiIiII.run(ijc:46)
 
Engineer
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
2,776
Apologies, in my log folder I only have a file for spectre, there's nothing for -game
Based on what you did give me, I'm theorizing that instrument.dll or rmi.dll got corrupted. I'm going to make it so that they're replaced everytime Spectre starts up. That'll hopefully be a step in the right direction
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
9
Based on what you did give me, I'm theorizing that instrument.dll or rmi.dll got corrupted. I'm going to make it so that they're replaced everytime Spectre starts up. That'll hopefully be a step in the right direction
Is there anything else you'd like me to do that might provide further knowledge of the problem? I can try dropping some replacements in if you like.
 
12 year old normie
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
2,769
Is there anything else you'd like me to do that might provide further knowledge of the problem? I can try dropping some replacements in if you like.

Try updating Spectre and see if it helps. Cloud recently released a new version with a lot of fixes, it might've just been fixed. ;)

If you have the exe, run it and it will auto-update. If you have the standalone, redownload it from the download page.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
9
Try updating Spectre and see if it helps. Cloud recently released a new version with a lot of fixes, it might've just been fixed. ;)

If you have the exe, run it and it will auto-update. If you have the standalone, redownload it from the download page.
Done! :oops: It didn't work...
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
31
Try updating Spectre and see if it helps. Cloud recently released a new version with a lot of fixes, it might've just been fixed. ;)

If you have the exe, run it and it will auto-update. If you have the standalone, redownload it from the download page.

I completely removed and redownloaded the client, I still have the same issue
 
Engineer
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
2,776
There's nothing else I'd like you guys to try at this point, expect an update in the next 24 hours with my next attempt.
 
Top