Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

Sign up now!

Tutorial Setting up IntelliJ 2023/2024

Bot Author
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
1,086
This is an extension from Tutorial - [2022] Setting up IntelliJ

To see when and what was the last update from this guide look into the comment section.
  • Either click here or search IntelliJ on Google in order to download IntelliJ. On the download page, select the Community Edition.

  • When the IntelliJ download is finished, you can go ahead and install it - no special configuration is needed here.

  • The "Customize IDE" screen will show up. Select any options you want, or alternatively, click "Skip All and Set Defaults"

  • Select "Create New Project"

  • In the "New project" window, you'll need to pick the project SDK.
    1. Click on the project SDK bar and select the option "Download JDK".
    2. In the "Download JDK" window, click on the vendor bar and select "Oracle OpenJDK" OR "JetBrains Runtime".
    3. Click on the version bar and select "17.0.0" (or upwards) then click the download button.
    4. Click "Next", and keep doing so until you reach the "Project name" textbox. I called my project Runemate, but you can call it whatever you want
upload_2023-11-20_13-27-27.png
  • Press "Ctrl+Alt+Shift+S" to open the project structure.
    1. In project setting select "Modules".
    2. Click on the "Dependencies" tab.
    3. On the left side of the panel click the + button and select "JARs or directories"
    4. With RuneMate installed you can find the dependencies under
Code:
C:\Program Files\RuneMate\RuneMate.jar
C:\Users\%user%\RuneMate\resources\runemate-game-api.jar
You can use the Standalone but you will need to manually update the dependencies.
5. Click on the "OK" button.

  • On the main IntelliJ window, select Run → Edit Configurations.

  • On the dialogue which appears, click the "+" button, and select "Jar Application"
    1. In the "Name" field choose the name you want. Mine is "Launch".
Discord - A New Way to Chat with Friends & Communities

3. In the "Program arguments" field copy and paste.

Code:
--dev

4. In the "Environment variables" field. Replace Username to your username and Password to your password.

Code:
RUNEMATE_USERNAME=Username; RUNEMATE_PASSWORD=Password

  • 5. Click the "OK" button.

  • If the project sidebar is not open press "Alt+1".
    1. Right click the "src" folder → New → Package
    2. Name your package as follow "com.username.scripts" (Replace "username" by your username)
    3. Right click the project bar then Compact Middle Packages.

You're all set to go ahead and start creating your own bot! Best of luck.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
3
This is an extension from Tutorial - [2022] Setting up IntelliJ

To see when and what was the last update from this guide look into the comment section.
  • Either click here or search IntelliJ on Google in order to download IntelliJ. On the download page, select the Community Edition.

  • When the IntelliJ download is finished, you can go ahead and install it - no special configuration is needed here.

  • The "Customize IDE" screen will show up. Select any options you want, or alternatively, click "Skip All and Set Defaults"

  • Select "Create New Project"

  • In the "New project" window, you'll need to pick the project SDK.
    1. Click on the project SDK bar and select the option "Download JDK".
    2. In the "Download JDK" window, click on the vendor bar and select "Oracle OpenJDK" OR "JetBrains Runtime".
    3. Click on the version bar and select "17.0.0" (or upwards) then click the download button.
    4. Click "Next", and keep doing so until you reach the "Project name" textbox. I called my project Runemate, but you can call it whatever you want
View attachment 13179
  • Press "Ctrl+Alt+Shift+S" to open the project structure.
    1. In project setting select "Modules".
    2. Click on the "Dependencies" tab.
    3. On the left side of the panel click the + button and select "JARs or directories"
    4. With RuneMate installed you can find the dependencies under
Code:
C:\Program Files\RuneMate\RuneMate.jar
C:\Users\%user%\RuneMate\resources\runemate-game-api.jar
You can use the Standalone but you will need to manually update the dependencies.
5. Click on the "OK" button.

  • On the main IntelliJ window, select Run → Edit Configurations.

  • On the dialogue which appears, click the "+" button, and select "Jar application"
    1. In the "Name" field choose the name you want. Mine is "Launch".
    2. In the "Main class" field copy paste
Code:
com.runemate.client.boot.Boot

3. In the "Program arguments" field copy and paste.

Code:
--dev

4. In the "Environment variables" field. Replace Username to your username and Password to your password.

Code:
RUNEMATE_USERNAME=Username; RUNEMATE_PASSWORD=Password

  • 5. Click the "OK" button.

  • If the project sidebar is not open press "Alt+1".
    1. Right click the "src" folder → New → Package
    2. Name your package as follow "com.username.scripts" (Replace "username" by your username)
    3. Right click the project bar then Compact Middle Packages.

You're all set to go ahead and start creating your own bot! Best of luck.


This guy is a pro and helped me out when I was having issues to find out I was using java 21 not 17 lol..
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2023
Messages
21
Has IntelliJ been changed since this guide was made? I'm confused because I'm not seeing the same options on the New Project (but I think I figured that out by editing it afterwards)
And on Edit Run Configuration I don't see a main class field
upload_2023-12-3_22-46-17.png
 
Bot Author
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
1,086
Has IntelliJ been changed since this guide was made? I'm confused because I'm not seeing the same options on the New Project (but I think I figured that out by editing it afterwards)
And on Edit Run Configuration I don't see a main class field
View attachment 13246
Has IntelliJ been changed since this guide was made? I'm confused because I'm not seeing the same options on the New Project (but I think I figured that out by editing it afterwards)
And on Edit Run Configuration I don't see a main class field
View attachment 13246

Yes IntelliJ has been updated, once you've set the run configurations, go to the edit by following this GIF.

https://i.gyazo.com/dca617b17b8afea4f2a812d4c41b6316.gif
 
Bot Author
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
1,086
I see the difference now, in the tutorial it says to select "JAR Application", while in your gif you're on "Application"
Edited and fixed :)
 
I see the difference now, in the tutorial it says to select "JAR Application", while in your gif you're on "Application"

Infact, no Jar Application is correct. The "Application" is the old method before RM upgraded to J17.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2023
Messages
21
Edited and fixed :)
 


Infact, no Jar Application is correct. The "Application" is the old method before RM upgraded to J17.
Then that goes back to my original question, there's no Main Class field under Jar Application. Do we just set the Jar Path like I did in my screenshot?
 
Bot Author
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
1,086
Then that goes back to my original question, there's no Main Class field under Jar Application. Do we just set the Jar Path like I did in my screenshot?

Doesn't look like you do, I don't have it in my method, I'll re-update the thread.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2022
Messages
46
Edited

I have managed to get this set up and log into the Development kit, but now my test bot does not appear in the list.
N7NQPwd
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
16
I can't get any of my local scripts to appear in the client. I have my directory set within the RuneMate settings already.

Code:
"C:\Program Files\Java\jdk-17\bin\java.exe" -Dfile.encoding=windows-1252 -jar "C:\Program Files\RuneMate\RuneMate.jar" --dev
WARNING: sun.reflect.Reflection.getCallerClass is not supported. This will impact performance.
Apr 10, 2024 11:50:06 PM com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl startup
WARNING: Unsupported JavaFX configuration: classes were loaded from 'unnamed module @df27fae'
23:50:07 [TRACE] [            RuneMate] Initializing JavaFX Platform
23:50:07 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Deleted 0 files over a week old
23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] RuneMate Version: 3.14.15
23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] Operating System: Windows 11 amd64
23:50:07 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] JAVA ENVIRONMENT:
23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate]    Home: C:\Program Files\Java\jdk-17
23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate]    Version: 17.0.10 x64 (Oracle Corporation)
23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate]    Max. Heap: 8176MB
23:50:08 [TRACE] [            RuneMate] Identified manifest and main class of Test Script
23:50:08 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 1 manifests and 1 unique content roots
23:50:08 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 0 classes and 2 resources
23:50:08 [WARN ] [            RuneMate] Error loading main class of com.USERNAME.scripts.test
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.USERNAME.scripts.test
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.findClass(ClassLoader.java:718) ~[?:?]
   at nul.IiIiIIiiiIiiII.findClass(vt:248) ~[RuneMate.jar:?]
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:587) ~[?:?]
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:520) ~[?:?]
   at nul.iIIiIIiiiiiIii.IIIIIIiiiiIiii(mp:216) ~[RuneMate.jar:?]
   at nul.iiiIIIiiiIiIII.iIiiIiiiiiIIIi(ms:786) ~[RuneMate.jar:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.CompletableFuture$AsyncSupply.run(CompletableFuture.java:1768) ~[?:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.CompletableFuture$AsyncSupply.exec(CompletableFuture.java:1760) ~[?:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:373) ~[?:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.topLevelExec(ForkJoinPool.java:1182) ~[?:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinPool.scan(ForkJoinPool.java:1655) ~[?:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:1622) ~[?:?]
   at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThread.java:165) ~[?:?]
23:50:09 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] Required x86 JDK resource exists - skipping download.
23:50:09 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 1 manifests and 1 unique content roots
23:50:09 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 0 classes and 2 resources
23:50:09 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Successfully downloaded missing resources
23:50:10 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] State of runelite_patch_state is 0
23:50:10 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] RuneLite launcher has already been patched

I'm also seeing lots of errors in the test scripts I'm trying to boot up. For in stance, it can't seem to be finding lombok - even though it is clearly installed as a plugin in ItelliJ.
 
Last edited:
Top